When the wind is in the East, the fish bite least” – Anon

The wind hadn’t changed direction or let up since yesterday. The same tackle and techniques would be employed once more. An early drift over a wreck with the mackerel feathers resulted in just one small pollack, so we moved back to the ray mark which gave a few fish yesterday.

For variety, I made up some cocktail baits of bluey and squid, bound together with bait-elastic. These I fished these straight down from the stern of the anchored boat.

Two thornback rays liked the offering. Both were a similar size to yesterday’s. Though un-weighed, I estimate both were about 4lb. Dogfish like it too, of course, but today I caught the same number of rays as dogfish. Some kind of record, I think.

IMG_0043
Thornback Ray, Raja clavata

Spring tides necessitated heavy weights, making bites difficult to detect. Accordingly, both dogfish and rays would swallow the entire hook. Circle hooks didn’t seem to make a difference. Luckily I always have a pair of long-nosed pliers on hand for deep-hooked fish. Pro-tip: If you’re thinking of putting your fingers anywhere near a ray’s mouth whilst unhooking – don’t. My left thumb got a reminder of the strength of even a small ray’s rasping mouth..

Another common fish to the area –  grey gurnard – also accepted the fish/squid bait combo.

DSC_4827

Grey Gurnard, Eutrigla gurnardus

It’s my first time fishing with bluey – aka Pacific Saury (Cololabis saira) – and I like the results so far. The flesh isn’t as firm as a mackerel (maybe due to the freezing?) but lashing it to squid makes a solid enough package. I’ll be trying blueys again.

Lastly, the ragworm-baited hook was snapped up by a fish that looked like a skinny pollack. It was actually a whiting; the first of which I’ve caught in this area . The whiting’s ‘overbite’ and needle-like teeth being the main points I use to distinguish between the two.

IMG_0050
Whiting, Merlangius merlangus

 

At two o’clock, we’d had enough of the wind and being slightly sunburned and happy with our catch, we called it a day. Nothing to gut today, as all fish were returned.

This weekend has got me thinking about hook size. The first 4lb-ish ray on Saturday was caught on a tiny size 4 hook, and a small whiting on a comparatively huge 5/0 circle hook. I’ll worry less about correct hook size in future.

I’m not so sure about that east wind proverb. A decent tally of fish were boated, it’s just a matter of seeking out the best marks for the conditions.


Total Catch:

  • 1 Pollack
  • 2 Lesser Spotted Dogfish
  • 2 Thornback Ray
  • 1 Grey Gurnard
  • 1 Whiting